Tags

, , ,

For a while, English professionals have been stressing the idea of appearance versus reality.

“Hamlet is merely a reflection of himself and he truly looks inwardly on his reality and blah.”

If I hear the Hamlet mirror thing one more time I will personally build a time machine and travel back into space whereupon I’ll find Shakespeare and poison him ear-style. Of course, knowing my luck I’ll probably land back in 2012 and nothing will have changed because Shakespeare wasn’t even Shakespeare.

Officially, this post is about Hamlet. It was going to be about The Wizard of Oz because of an awesome theme I wanted to bring up but I read Baum’s book so long ago that I didn’t feel particularly qualified. Either way, I’m prodding at the same point so it’s all kosher. Let’s throw in some aestheticism, shall we?

For some reason there’s a push to get students into recognizing themes of appearance against the constructs of reality. Not everything is how it seems. That may look like a chair but it isn’t a chair. Ceci n’est pas un pipe. What was that? Why yes. I do believe it’s time for a visual aid.

Alright I get it. We all get it. Existentialism, nothing’s as it seems, it looks like I’m enjoying this lecture but the reality is that I’m not.

I feel like sometimes this theme makes appearances is simply due to the fact that perception is fundamental. Of course the way I’m looking at my mug full of chai tea looks like a mug full of chai tea to me. I’m viewing the mug and how my brain presents its shape and color and whatnot is completely up to him. The brain that is. I just personified my brain, did you catch that? What’s also fundamental is that the way I see something might not be exactly as is presented, which is ok, because humanity isn’t completely used to changing their mind after gaining more information. Sorry, Mr. Bard.

The reason I’m even bringing this up is because I think there are maybe more poignant forms of what either all these authors are trying to say or all my English teachers are trying to hose us down with.

“The Man Behind the Curtain Syndrome” being one of them.

I realize that I’m taking horrible teenage justices with intricate, scholarly themes and naming them in grotesquely cute fashions, but I have a point. This is a blog dedicated to the application of literature so don’t you dare bite your thumb at me.

Get it?

The aforementioned application is this: we all bum around on the internet a trillion hours a day and don’t even know the first name of the people creating websites and blogs and angry birds.

We don’t know the faces of people who own restaurants or the voice when you call customer service or, as my depressingly simple classmates in econ class proved today, Ben Bernanke.

Since this is rather early on in the history of “Reader, I wrote this,” (which, by the way, isn’t a URL that’s likely to stick around) I wanted to give a little piece of who I am.

Currently, I’m sitting cross legged on my office chair drinking tea out of a mug my good friend, Donny, got me for Christmas. I’m listening to music by St. Vincent, because she goes perfectly with my reading of The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I’m rather comfortable in a Chicago Bears sweatshirt my dad bought circa 1988.

Here’s a link to my tumblr: www.thethirdgreatemily.tumblr.com

I’m trying to figure out a nice way to relate everything back to me but I can’t seem to figure it out.

Bloggers block, I guess.

